vladg/sound

"Molot" and "Limiter №6" plugins page

Nova-67P: the most hardcore KVR Developer Challenge (DC14) submission ever! (just kidding)

Nova-67P is a parallel parametric equalizer plugin combined with a compressor. The compressor can optionally operate in frequency dependent and split-band modes. In this case the plugin operates as a parallel dynamic equalizer.

Features:

  • 5 bands parallel equalizer with auto-gain.
  • Optional high-pass and low-pass filters.
  • Full-band frequency dependent and/or split-band compression.
  • Side-chain filtering and pre-emphasis.
  • Third-octave real-time spectrum analysis.
  • External side-chain support.
  • 64-bit internal processing.
  • Hardcore UI style.

Nova-67P is my submission to KVR Developer Challenge DC14! Okay, I didn’t have enough time to prepare truly “commercial looking” plugin but the concept is too cool to drop it away.

Try it:                http://www.kvraudio.com/product/nova-67p-by-vladg-sound/

Comment it:        http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=91&t=417330

Vote for it:          http://www.kvraudio.com/kvr-developer-challenge/2014/#dc14-9245    (NOTE: register on KVR to vote)

 

More info about KVR DC14:

Launch: April 2014
Deadline: July 31st
Voting: Aug 1st-24th
Winners Announced: August 25th

http://www.kvraudio.com/kvr-developer-challenge/2014/

 

16 responses to “Nova-67P: the most hardcore KVR Developer Challenge (DC14) submission ever! (just kidding)

  1. ezequiel 2014/08/02 at 12:52

    WOW
    Looks extremely complicated and very cool
    Yeah GUI is definitely basic but not that it’s so important… or is it?

    • vladgsound 2014/08/02 at 21:08

      Gui is definitely important but I can’t rewrite it during competition. I did this UI only for myself with the plan to rewrite it just before the competition start but… I was almost too late to complete the project in time.

      • ezequiel 2014/08/03 at 02:34

        Nevermind for now vladg, it looks very VERY promising and an interesting concept indeed- I’m gonna give it a test drive soon. Congratulations, my friend!

        EZEQUIEL
        BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA

      • Ian 2014/08/23 at 09:53

        Well, I tested her out and I like this thing! I actually like what it does to the drum bus better than the Waves C4. The GUI is clear and it’s definitely easy to see what’s going on. If I were you, I’d just keep refining the sound engine and fixing whatever bugs there are before worrying about a fancy GUI. However, down the road, it would be neat if it could be made to match the other two.

  2. Jo 2014/08/04 at 01:54

    Hi, very promising indeed.
    Here are my thoughts :

    - Need a proper way to completely bypass compressor module (if you only need to eq for ex.)
    - Ctrl + clic doesn’t show menu on MBP
    - Need info on each point (Freq, Gain, Q) for precise
    - Is it linear phase?

    Best

    • vladgsound 2014/08/04 at 16:25

      > – Need a proper way to completely bypass compressor module (if you only need to eq for ex.)
      Yeah. I think it too now :-) Also I have to do is to extend “ratio” parameter to 1:1 (i.e. to bypass the compression). But I suppose it’s against the rules of the competition to change it so let’s wait until the end of August.
      > – Ctrl + clic doesn’t show menu on MBP
      Thanks for the tip! I’ll check combinations on Mac.
      > – Need info on each point (Freq, Gain, Q) for precise
      Yeah, yeah, yeah. It was in my todo list but I wasn’t in time for the deadline
      > – Is it linear phase?
      No. Linear phase dynamic equalization leads to very very high CPU usage. I had an idea to add linear mode with bypass of dynamics sections but IMHO it was not good so I had rejected it.

      • ezequiel 2014/08/04 at 17:07

        “No. Linear phase dynamic equalization leads to very very high CPU usage. I had an idea to add linear mode with bypass of dynamics sections but IMHO it was not good so I had rejected it.”

        …. maybe add an ON/OFF button for linear phase mode? I don’t know how intensive CPU usage can be after but it might be really interesting e.g. in mastering situations – if it actually does improve the sound, that is.

        One more thing: it would be awesome if you wrote an article here or explained more in the manual, what parallel eq really is and works good for – for those who do not completely get it (like myself)

        Thanks!
        Ezequiel

      • vladgsound 2014/08/04 at 17:21

        Good point about parallel EQs explanation. It’s better to draw a picture how do they work with couple of graphs. Added in TODO list.

        Hmm… Okay, I’ll perform some experiments with linear phase. Maybe extra CPU consumption really worth it.

      • ezequiel 2014/08/05 at 03:33

        “Good point about parallel EQs explanation. It’s better to draw a picture how do they work with couple of graphs. Added in TODO list.

        Hmm… Okay, I’ll perform some experiments with linear phase. Maybe extra CPU consumption really worth it.”

        AWESOME
        Thanks very much for all the attention. Looking forward to that article…!

        Super heavy CPU plugins with outstanding soud quality are accepted nowadays; take for instance DMG EQuilibrium, or u-He DIVA, both of which will eat up my CPU cicles but sound so perfect…

      • Jo 2014/08/05 at 20:35

        Great!
        The on/off linear phase is also a great idea.

        Would we get an update before the end of the competition (only on this website for ex.)?

  3. sergey hadukin 2014/08/05 at 12:13

    Tried to use this, but it crashes in most scenarios (like preset switching, bypass on/off). Here is specs: macbook pro “13 core i5, osx 10.9.4, daw is Renoise 3.0 (32bit build, no bridging, no sandboxing used).

  4. lary 2014/08/05 at 12:38

    thanks vladgsound, very nice plugin indeed. im on logic pro and noticed its stereo only, any reason not to have a mono version?
    cheers

  5. Ian 2014/08/06 at 22:59

    So far I’m happy with this thing. I’ve been thinking about the Voxengo GlissEQ because I like dynamic EQ’s and multiband compressors and this is kinda both. I rather like the GUI because it’s clear and simple. Maybe offer an alternative that mimics the cool Soviet military look mad keep this one default.

    As far as linear phase goes, unless you are boosting quite a bit, I don’t see the purpose. If you’re mastering, you aren’t doing radical boosting anyway. Even so, I went crazy with boosts on the drum bus and I didn’t notice any detrimental artifacts. If you’re running 64-bit float, it should help phase issues. For mastering maybe a linear option would be cool but as is, I like this plug a lot! It’s just what I needed! Thanks Vlad!

  6. prokletije 2014/08/23 at 19:59

    Played a little with this baby and it’s working so damn well! I then gave it a try in a project where it shined on dubbed dialogue. Then I got greedy and came to this question: would it be possible to make it multichannel? The thing is I’d love to place this gem on a 5.1 stem which would then take up 3 insert slots plus it’s a little inconvenient to tweak all 3 or 4 instances ( if I like to tweak center channel a little differently than the sides for example). I know it’s a little bit of an overstretch but I do believe Nova could find a lot of use in post workflow. Is it a lot of a hassle to make Nova67 surround capable?
    All in all absolutely marvellous job! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers

