"Molot" and "Limiter №6" plugins page (and Tokyo Dawn Labs stuff too)

Molot Compressor VST Mac OS X version (TEST ONLY)

Hi there!

I spent a couple of evenings to try to compile Molot VST on Mac.

The result is the OS X version of VST plugin that you can try to use but I don’t promise you this version 100% working.

Current issues:

  1. There’s 32-bit version only (x86 and PowerPC platforms). I had problems to compile VSTGUI for 64-bit version.
  2. Checked only for Reaper as VST host both x86 and PowerPC versions.
  3. There’s no my favorite EN/RU switch. I had problems with VSTGUI for dynamic changes of transparent layer with english “paper sticks”.

[download 0.2.145 (32-bit, VST, Mac OS X)]

Feel free to write what do you think about this version in comments. Any help is appreciated.

28 responses to “Molot Compressor VST Mac OS X version (TEST ONLY)

  1. David Paquin 2011/03/27 at 05:27

    Hello, thanks for the vst mac test version.
    Seems promising but it didn’t work at all except for the nice GUI…knobs don’t move and the presets don’t work too.
    The AU work but theres no GUI, only basic Audiounit GUI.
    Keep up the good work and thanks again!

    Is there a chance to see your plugs in RTAS in the future?

    Tried with OS 10.6.7 in 32 bit and 64 bit modes.

  2. David Paquin 2011/03/27 at 20:37

    Bias Peak 5.2.1 and the vst/rtas wrapper with pro Tools

    • vladgsound 2011/03/27 at 23:28

      I’ll try to reproduce it with Bias Peak.

      • David Paquin 2011/03/28 at 03:18

        My version of Peak is quite old and i don’t know if it support vst3 or vst4…maybe this is the problem?
        Sorry for my bad english…hope you’ll understand.

  3. kejkz 2011/04/01 at 18:28

    It works quite alright for me, tested in EnergyXT latest beta, every control works as expected! Top sound!

    • vladgsound 2011/04/01 at 18:37

      But does EnergyXT support AU plugins?
      As I know AU version if Molot with fully working GUI is almost done so I think there’s no need for VST version for Mac.

      • Dimitris 2011/04/01 at 18:45

        “I think there’s no need for VST version for Mac”

        Some of us Mac users use Cubase and Wavelab. VST is very usefull, please don’t drop it!

      • vladgsound 2011/04/03 at 02:34

        Okay, I’ll continue with Mac VST version.

      • David Paquin 2011/04/02 at 01:11

        vladgsound, i think Cubase / Nuendo (for mac) run with vst’s…and for others like me, theres the vst/rtas wrapper for ProTools.

  4. quantize 2011/04/04 at 08:18

    “I think there’s no need for VST version for Mac”

    Excuse ME, speak only for yourself and nobody else. Cubase is alive and very well indeed in Mac OSX.

    Just want to thank you for this amazing plugin! I’m running it in Cubase 5 and Cubase 6 in Mac OSX 10.6.7

    no problems so far. I love the sound of this plugin…it reminds me a bit of my powercore CL1B, a very analog sounding compression….

  5. Dimitris 2011/04/05 at 14:44

    @ Quantize…..
    ” ”
    These are the developer’s words, learn to read please!!!

    • quantize 2011/04/05 at 15:00


      Learn to read yourself Dimitris, or how to comprehend English.

      I was defending the need to for a mac VST. Nothing the developer says contradicts that whatsoever.

      Save your attitude for something that matters

  6. Dimitris 2011/04/05 at 15:01

    vladgsound 2011/04/01 at 18:37

    But does EnergyXT support AU plugins?
    As I know AU version if Molot with fully working GUI is almost done so I think there’s no need for VST version for Mac.

  7. David Paquin 2011/04/05 at 23:19

    Vladgsound, the blog have become a little stressed here.
    I know you work hard and theres good effort to make your plug sounding good and above all, for free.
    You have some harsh debaters (like quantize and dimitris users), i think for vst and vst/rtas wrapper users like us theres sone ambiguities from your part. Are you able to port vst for mac? What are the mac editors available to you for beta testing?
    If you don’t have enough of these editors to properlly test vst’s, just mention it, i don’t think users will blame you for that, its free.

    Keep up your good work!!… and please be clear with us.

  8. Dimitris 2011/04/06 at 00:02

    I think he said it clearly that he’ll continue the Mac VST version (2011/04/03 at 02:34)

    The beta testing idea is great, I can test Cubase 6 and Wavelab 7 if he likes.

    Finally there is not a debate with user quantize, as he clearly misuderstood what I wrote. Bottom line is we all want the development of the Mac VST version to continue and help with it!

    • vladgsound 2011/04/06 at 00:07

      Okay, I got it. I’ll continue my work on fully working VST Mac version.
      When the next iteration will be ready I’ll use all of you as testers.🙂

      I’m a bit busy for a while so the work is temporary paused…

  9. Miro 2011/04/09 at 21:02

    VST works like a charm (osx 10.6.7 / Live 8.2.2)
    This thing kicks so much butt…I love it!!!

    Thanks vladgsound…

  10. Miro 2011/04/09 at 22:10

    I’m waiting for my paypal to charge. You definitely deserve a fair donation!!!

  11. Miro 2011/04/12 at 20:29

    vladg, is there a contact form or something? can’t find a way..

  12. modulo2008 2011/04/17 at 22:50

    Nice GUI & Plugins!!
    I want to use for RTAS with VST-RTAS warpper.

    I wrapped this,I can lanch it. But I can’t control with mouse.
    (It can work with novation automap & automation. But I can’t see GUI nob moving.)
    If you can, please solve this problem.

    big thanks!

  13. David 2011/04/26 at 16:12

    vladgsound, vst2rtas wrapper by fxpansion

  14. zeep 2011/04/28 at 17:47

    thanks for the osx vst version! i use live 8.2.2 on both pc and mac so it’s great that you have a vst version. i never use au.


Leave a Reply

