"Molot" and "Limiter №6" plugins page (and Tokyo Dawn Labs stuff too)

2 opinions about Limiter №6


I’m liking Limiter No.6 more and more. I just finished a test with 6 songs were I used the Pro channel eq, Sonitus comp and Limiter No.6 to master. (…) I created a patch for the eq in pro channel and used the same one on each song ( each track), then inserted Sonitus and Limiter No. 6. I’m actually surprised with how well this worked. I used the Limiter No.6 to basically reduce gain by 1 db on all 5 of it’s processors with the peaks set to zero. Nice loud, transparent, and level sounding group of 6.



Chris Dion

(…) Okay, but how does it sound ???

To answer quickly, so-so. The compressor sounds good but the other units… not really. This thing seems to be the quickest way to destroy your signal without gaining any volume at the end. Moreover, there is way too much parameters for no apparent reasons. I mean, great mastering engineers (…) use limiting very little; Why one would need 4 stages of limiting that can apply 4db of gain reduction each in series ?

Overall, the Vladg’s limiter No. 6 did not gave me the impression of a finished product. After 30 minutes of testing, I do not recommend this unit for mastering purposes. On the other hand, I liked the compressor; I would have liked to have it as a separate plugin.I think Vladg would have benefit from taking more time evaluating the design of its unit prior to release it. It contains way too much parameters and stages for something that simply destroy your sound. I guess, sometimes, by trying to do too much, we finish by doing less…



PS. I almost completed my first video showing features of L6. It’s about 6 minutes long. The last thing to stay is to make subtitles for the second half of it.

PPS. Also I have only 3 bugs to fix and to release 1.01 version of L6 (with 64-bit Mac support and without CPU problems with GUI). Also I have RTAS SDK now. And finally, I have cool idea how to make AU version very quick: http://code.google.com/p/symbiosis-au-vst/

Thanks Cyril for this link!


9 responses to “2 opinions about Limiter №6

  1. ABOBA 2012/07/31 at 21:40

    У меня ничего не уничтожается (не профессионально этим занимаюсь, но и на домашнюю запись точно уже не походит): ни транзиенты, ни звук, все работает как надо. ЧЯДНТ?! Интересно послушать, что товарищи с куантум-мьюзик натестировали.
    Лимитер не рубит как “топор”(словно выводили микс с клипующим уровнем громкости), при этом звук сам по себе не “пыхтит” и не “плавает” от компрессии и ограничения, даже от приличного (проверял на Yamaha MSP-5, которые к динамике довольно таки капризны). Лишнего тоже не добавляет, если не злоупотреблять. Секция HF Reduction (точно не помню как называется) дак вообще чудо. В этом деле главное — аккуратность.
    +1, хотя нет, +5,….. и опять нет, +∞ к тому, чтобы сделать компрессор такого типа, как в Limiter№6. На вокал, на оверхеды использовать самое то))) + сатурацию добавить мягкую + выходной модуль, который пики “режет” – получится отличная “мягкая” подруга для “жесткого” молота😀 прям семейная пара, потом и детей можно делать😀
    А так, вообще отличный лимитер. Надеюсь это не предел для него. И есть еще куда стремиться (хотя я даже не представляю куда, если только баги исправлять).
    In English:
    All works good for me. WAIDW?! The general in this case is not overdo.
    +∞ to the idea to make the separate compressor.
    Awesome limiter.
    Cheers =)

    • vladgsound 2012/08/01 at 14:55

      Товарищ наверное привык к Озону. По поводу вынесения эквалайзера в отдельный плагин – пожалуй надо сделать. Спасибо!

      • ABOBA 2012/08/01 at 16:54

        озон вообще ни разу мне не понравился) в плане лимитера.

      • vladgsound 2012/08/02 at 01:10

        Ой! Совсем перегрелся. Не эквалайзера, а компрессора🙂

  2. Clint Martin 2012/08/01 at 06:14

    I don’t think Chris spent much time with the Limiter no.6. I think it sounds very natural and transparent. I’m still learning how to use it best for what I do, but so far I’m blown away with the sound quality. Great job!

    • vladgsound 2012/08/01 at 14:54

      I read a lot of user opinions about L6 but these 2 opinions gave me the most emotions. Actually I search for user opinions to catch possible bugs they noticed. After reading your opinion I thought: “Hey, that guy found the right and easiest way to use this plugin!” Thank you!😉

  3. jazznfunk 2012/08/02 at 01:08

    Я пока използоваю толко “точний ИСП” секцию и уже балдею от прозрачности!
    I use “Precise ISP” option only and don’t believe to it’s transparentness!🙂

  4. dither noise 2012/08/02 at 18:01

    да вот пожалуй фидбек комп c рмс до 200мс и прогрессивным мягким коленом и внешним сайдом было бы не плохо отдельным плагом, Влад-а?!
    пробовал “токийскийзакатстудио” комп -как та так се..,лимитер 6 тоже так-се,молот хороший альтернативный комп.
    есть еще такие параметры как hold-между циклом атака-спад,и задержка атаки (ее отсрочка)для “свинга”… -информации к медитации:D так новую цацку хоцца!

  5. zvukofor 2012/08/29 at 15:41

    One of the best limiters i’ve ever used. Clean, transparent, and with dedicated clean compressor, which is just marvelous. I was thinking of getting one big named expensive limiter, but then i tried Limiter#6 – i’m sold, many thanks to Vlad.

Leave a Reply

