"Molot" and "Limiter №6" plugins page (and Tokyo Dawn Labs stuff too)

Some news

The news are:

  1. About SlickEQ GE and WYSIWYG curve and frequency analyzer
  2. About SlickEQ and new “Funky” output saturation mode
  3. About Limiter6 and the skin
  4. About oversampled EQs
  5. About Nova67P

Now let’s go into the details.

#1. SlickEQ GE was updated to include WYSIWYG curve and frequency analyzer

SlickEQ GE

Top & bottom parts of UI are optional now and can be collapsed.

A brief story behind this update:

Me: Hey Fabien, I’ve got SlickEQ GE version but sometimes I found myself using freeware one. Do you know why? Freeware version has smaller window size. Could you please add “collapse” button to hide the bottom part of GE version?

…week later…

Me (looking at the new version): Wow! You’ve added the button to collapse bottom part but you’ve also added the expandable top part with magnitude plot! I really am not going to have this top part open in all usage cases but sometimes it is very useful. I was against frequency analyzer before but now I think the slowly moving 1 octave smoothed curve will suit the concept. Let’s add it!

…week later…

Fabien (looking at the analyzer): Wow! But please make it move faster.

Me: Okay.

By the way I use SlickEQ a lot as basic tone shaping equalizer. I like it due to great workflow and balanced sound between pristine and boring digital and colorful analog modeled extremes. I prefer to use another EQ plugins for surgical cuts and for complex tone shaping on problem tracks but on busses it’s hard to replace this EQ. I can’t say that SlickEQ is the only and the best equalizer in the world but I like it very much. The only complain from my side is CPU usage (my audio PC is pretty old) but in latest update we performed some more optimizations. And don’t forget about “Eco” mode too.


#2. Both SlickEQ versions were updated to include new “Funky” output saturation mode

I was performing a kind of research about inductor equalizers including the hysteresis effect. The interesting audible feature of hysteresis effect is that it suppresses small signal changes and makes them even smaller. It leads to some kind of expander like action, it cleans the mix from quieter noises, enhances transients and makes the sound more defined. One of developed hysteresis models worked extremely well on its own so we decided put it into new output saturation mode. Hope you like it.


By the way I have a couple of Pultec clones by Warm Audio now. I’m not going to model them but I use them as some kind of inspiration for inductor EQ sound.

Warm Audio EQP-WA

Warm Audio EQP-WA recall sheet


#3. Best skin for Limiter No6

I use ENV1 skin for Limiter No6 already for year and last months I feel myself a bit surprised when I see original skins on youtube or Sound on Sound publication and so on because I almost forgot how original skins looked.

Limiter No6 ENV1 skin


By the way, check this fresh video featuring Acustica Audio Red Free EQ, Audio Damage Rough Rider Compressor, Shattered Glass Audio Code Red Free and finally Limiter No6 and how to use it without reading the manual (the video is very funny really)



#4. A good thread about oversampled EQs

It’s closely related with my old “A classification of digital equalizers” article.

The most interesting post: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php?p=1390912&postcount=26

The whole thread: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=144019

Also some days ago I checked Code Red Free plugin by Shattered Glass Audio and found its EQ module an extremely good illustration of complex band interaction within an equalizer. The plugin is really interesting [check it out].

Shattered Glass Audio Code Red Free


#5. Also we’re working on Nova67P re-release under Tokyo Dawn Labs label with new UI and a lot of cool features

Small fragment of development version screenshot.

TDR Nova GE (fragment)

Stay tuned.





And finally PS. Due to some personal problems I try to keep all communications to minimum. Sorry if I didn’t answer your emails, private messages or comments.

7 responses to “Some news

  1. Ezequiel Morfi 2015/09/20 at 05:44

    Awesome news, all of them!
    I got the 1.2.0 of SlickEQ and I have to say the new graphics are beautiful. I’m still trying to get a grip of the sound out of the new Funky mode; like all the others, it’s really subtle. vladg, did you code the other Saturations as well?

    Very happy to hear about the new TDL Nova 67P, but also a bit sad not to hear from TDL Limit no.7…?

    • vladgsound 2015/09/23 at 00:10

      No, I did only “EQ.Sat” mode. LimiterNo7 is expected in the next year. I slowly porting LimiterNo6 to Tokyo Dawn Labs framework but it’s some kind of background process for me…

  2. Ezequiel Morfi 2015/09/20 at 05:53

    …I meant to say, the 1.2.0 update of SlickEQ GE

    By the way, I too am against ‘visual aid’ in an EQ (i.e., a spectral analizer), but in the particular case of SlickEQ, i do think it’s needed, from all the different modes and curves and non-proportional cuts and boost that you have to remember and associate to one of the 5 countries and colours, for no particular reason!

  3. Unsign 2015/09/20 at 14:28

    Great news!
    Btw, new skin for Limiter №6 is very atmospheric and stylish.

  4. Clint Martin 2015/09/23 at 22:37

    Love SlickEQ GE, Kotelnikov GE and as always LimiterNo.6. The guy who made that skin for LimiterNo.6 has made another nice one you may consider adding.

  5. Nekro Dean Frogzwell 2015/10/07 at 06:47

    Always looking forwards to what Fabien, Yourself and a few other developers have in the works Vlad my friend, Sorry it has been a while. I haven’t been in such good health. I’m alot better though now. Wishing yourself and your family and loved one’s alll the best as always

    Dean and family

Leave a Reply

